Back to home
Competrace vs Skills Base
Updated
Looking for a Skills Base alternative? Here is how Competrace and Skills Base compare on price, features and setup, using only what each publishes.
What it costs
| Cost per month | 10 users | 50 users | 100 users | 200 users |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Competrace | Free | $50 | $75 | $125 |
| Skills Base | Free | $112.50 | $225 | $450 |
Teams plan
Skills Base has a free plan for up to 25 users and 250 skills, with no teams, no role targets and no certifications. Its pricing page does not state the billing period.
Feature comparison
| Feature | Competrace | Skills Base |
|---|---|---|
| Pricing and setup | ||
| Free plan | Yes: Yes, up to 10 users, every feature, no card | Yes: Free for up to 25 users and 250 skills |
| Published prices | Yes: $50/month for up to 50 users, then $0.50 per extra user | Yes: Teams $2.25 and Enterprise $4 per person per month; Ultimate on request |
| Sign up without a sales call | Yes: Yes, sign up and start free | Yes: Free and Teams sign up online, paid by card; Enterprise and Ultimate start with a demo |
| Skills, levels and assessments | ||
| Career levels per department | Yes: Yes, one shared ladder, expectations per skill per department | Partly: Roles with skill targets and career pathways; level ladders not stated |
| Ready-made frameworks | Yes: 16 ready-made departments, free to add | Yes: Built-in skill library and skill data templates, free |
| Self-assessment | Yes: Yes, the employee is added as a self-assessor by default | Yes: Employee self-assessment ("Baseline Review") |
| Assessment by others | Yes: Yes, any number of assessors, anonymous written feedback | Yes: Supervisor or expert validation (Validation Review); peer not stated |
| Skill gap analysis | Yes: Yes, per person, against their current and next level | Yes: Skills matrix and gap reports against role targets |
| Promotion readiness | Yes: Yes, a % of next-level expectations met | Partly: % progress to role targets; % fit to other roles on Ultimate |
| Development plans | No: No, shows gaps but no development plans | Partly: Training plans and upskilling plans |
| Certifications | Yes: Yes, held or not, can be required from a level | Yes: Tracks certificates on Teams and up; 90/60/30-day expiry alerts on Ultimate |
| AI | Yes: Yes, admin-only assistant that can read your data, not change it | Yes: Optional AI chat and insights; can run without AI |
| Integrations, security and data | ||
| HR system integrations | Partly: Via Zapier (BambooHR, Personio, HiBob), not native | Partly: Connects to HR and LMS systems by API; none named |
| Single sign-on (SSO) | No: No SAML or company-managed SSO. Sign in with email and password, a magic link, or Google. | Yes: SAML 2.0 (Azure AD, Okta, OneLogin, Google), Enterprise plan |
| Public API | Yes: Yes, REST API with organisation keys, on every plan | Yes: Full REST API, Teams plan and up |
| Security certifications | Partly: GDPR, with a published DPA; runs on SOC 2 Type II and ISO 27001 certified providers | Partly: ISO 27001 aligned (own certification not stated); GDPR and UK GDPR |
| Data hosting | Yes: EU (Frankfurt). AI questions are processed in the US | Yes: You pick AWS in the USA, Australia or Europe (Germany), Teams plan and up |
| Pay by invoice | Yes: Yes, on the Team plan, bank transfer | Partly: Sales-team orders can be invoiced, at Skills Base's choice |
Skills Base is a trademark of its owner. Competrace isn't affiliated with Skills Base.