Back to home
Competrace vs Progression (now Careerminds)
Updated
Progression is now part of Careerminds, which acquired it in October 2024. The app now runs under the Careerminds name. This page compares Competrace with what Careerminds publishes, on price, features and setup.
What it costs
| Cost per month | 10 users | 50 users | 100 users | 200 users |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Competrace | Free | $50 | $75 | $125 |
| Progression (now Careerminds) | Not published, free 2-week trial | |||
Progression has been part of Careerminds since October 2024. Prices are not public. The signup page offers a free 2-week trial.
Feature comparison
| Feature | Competrace | Progression (now Careerminds) |
|---|---|---|
| Pricing and setup | ||
| Free plan | Yes: Yes, up to 10 users, every feature, no card | No: No free plan, only a 2-week trial |
| Published prices | Yes: $50/month for up to 50 users, then $0.50 per extra user | No: No prices shown |
| Sign up without a sales call | Yes: Yes, sign up and start free | Yes: Self-serve signup with a 2-week trial, no credit card |
| Skills, levels and assessments | ||
| Career levels per department | Yes: Yes, one shared ladder, expectations per skill per department | Yes: Defines roles, skills and levels with leveling frameworks |
| Ready-made frameworks | Yes: 16 ready-made departments, free to add | Yes: Hundreds of starter skills and templates |
| Self-assessment | Yes: Yes, the employee is added as a self-assessor by default | Partly: Employees check in to track growth; method not stated |
| Assessment by others | Yes: Yes, any number of assessors, anonymous written feedback | Not stated publicly |
| Skill gap analysis | Yes: Yes, per person, against their current and next level | Yes: Role needs vs people's skills, and vs the market |
| Promotion readiness | Yes: Yes, a % of next-level expectations met | Yes: Readiness score and ranked successors per position |
| Development plans | No: No, shows gaps but no development plans | Partly: Coaches build a plan rooted in defined roles and skills |
| Certifications | Yes: Yes, held or not, can be required from a level | Not stated publicly |
| AI | Yes: Yes, admin-only assistant that can read your data, not change it | Yes: AI drafts roles and skills, informed by 155,000 skill frameworks |
| Integrations, security and data | ||
| HR system integrations | Partly: Via Zapier (BambooHR, Personio, HiBob), not native | Partly: Says it works with your HRIS; no systems named |
| Single sign-on (SSO) | No: No SAML or company-managed SSO. Sign in with email and password, a magic link, or Google. | Yes: Login offers company SSO, Google and Microsoft |
| Public API | Yes: Yes, REST API with organisation keys, on every plan | Not stated publicly |
| Data hosting | Yes: EU (Frankfurt). AI questions are processed in the US | Partly: Privacy policy says servers are in the US |
| Pay by invoice | Yes: Yes, on the Team plan, bank transfer | Not stated publicly |
Progression is a trademark of its owner. Competrace isn't affiliated with Progression.