Skip to main content
Back to home

Competrace vs Leapsome

Updated

Looking for a Leapsome alternative? Here is how Competrace and Leapsome compare on price, features and setup, using only what each publishes.

What it costs

Monthly cost by team size, from list prices, before tax
Cost per month10 users50 users100 users200 users
CompetraceFree$50$75$125
LeapsomeNo separate price for competency frameworks

Leapsome prices each module per employee per month (EUR, USD or GBP). Competency frameworks have no separate price, and the platform foundation is required (free with a Talent Suite module if bought by Dec 31).

Feature comparison

FeatureCompetraceLeapsome
Pricing and setup
Free planYes: Yes, up to 10 users, every feature, no cardNo: No free plan. 14-day free trial listed; sandbox after a consultation
Published pricesYes: $50/month for up to 50 users, then $0.50 per extra userYes: Per employee per month in EUR, USD or GBP: Foundation 7 (0 until Dec 31), Pro 10, modules 3 to 7
Sign up without a sales callYes: Yes, sign up and start freeNo: Buttons lead to "Talk to sales" or a demo
Skills, levels and assessments
Career levels per departmentYes: Yes, one shared ladder, expectations per skill per departmentYes: Skills defined by level, with pathways to the next seniority
Ready-made frameworksYes: 16 ready-made departments, free to addYes: Importable best-practice frameworks; AI drafting
Self-assessmentYes: Yes, the employee is added as a self-assessor by defaultYes: Self-assessments in performance reviews
Assessment by othersYes: Yes, any number of assessors, anonymous written feedbackYes: 360, peer, manager and external reviews
Skill gap analysisYes: Yes, per person, against their current and next levelPartly: Finds skill gaps via reviews plus competencies
Promotion readinessYes: Yes, a % of next-level expectations metPartly: Promotion readiness in talent analytics; promotion reviews in Compensation
Development plansNo: No, shows gaps but no development plansYes: Development plans (IDP, PIP) from reviews; goals; learning paths
CertificationsYes: Yes, held or not, can be required from a levelNot stated publicly
AIYes: Yes, admin-only assistant that can read your data, not change itYes: Drafts frameworks and reviews; AI coach and agents
Integrations, security and data
HR system integrationsPartly: Via Zapier (BambooHR, Personio, HiBob), not nativeYes: BambooHR, HiBob, Personio, Workday, Rippling, SAP, Deel
Slack or Microsoft TeamsNo: No app, Slack messages possible via ZapierYes: Slack and Microsoft Teams
Single sign-on (SSO)No: No SAML or company-managed SSO. Sign in with email and password, a magic link, or Google.Yes: Okta, OneLogin, Azure AD, Google; included in every plan
Public APIYes: Yes, REST API with organisation keys, on every planPartly: Read-only content API, SCIM, SFTP and an MCP server
Security certificationsPartly: GDPR, with a published DPA; runs on SOC 2 Type II and ISO 27001 certified providersYes: ISO 27001, SOC 2 Type II, GDPR and EU AI Act listed
Data hostingYes: EU (Frankfurt). AI questions are processed in the USYes: Platform data hosted in Germany; some AI providers outside the EU
Pay by invoiceYes: Yes, on the Team plan, bank transferNot stated publicly

Leapsome is a trademark of its owner. Competrace isn't affiliated with Leapsome.